Jorge Martin dominated the Moto3 race of the Valencia GP after starting from pole position and took his first ever win in the World Championship. Joan Mir made a great come back race and finished 2nd after dropping to 19th in the early stages of the race, while Marcos Ramirez crossed the line in 3rd to make it a 100% Spanish Podium.
The front row riders had a good start and conserved the first 3 positions after Turn 1, with Martin ahead of Gabriel Rodrigo and Mir. 

The trio resisted at the front for the first laps, but Gabriel Rodrigo made a mistake and crashed out of the race. Also, his fall forced Joan Mir to go wide. The championship leader came back on the track only in 19th. 

Jorge Martin started flying towards his first ever win, while the battle for 2nd fired up 2 seconds behind him. 

Bastianini, Ramirez, Foggia and Fenati swapped the 2nd place between them, before Mir made the junction with the group with 5 laps to go. 

The championship leader managed to go up in 2nd and defended it perfectly in the last lap. 

Jorge Martin crossed the line while pulling an enormous Wheelie, a great way to celebrate his 50th GP and a first ever win. 

Joan Mir remained 2nd, while Marcos Ramirez was another great defender as he prevented Fenati from taking his podium spot. Fenati finished his last Moto3 race in 4th after a difficult weekend, with compatriot Enea Bastianini locking out the top 5.

Juanfran Guevara saved the day for RBA BOE Racing after Rodrigo’s early exit, as the Spaniard finished 6th, just ahead of impressive wildcard Dennis Foggia.

John McPhee ended the season with a solid prestation, crossing the line in P8. Aron Canet finished 9th and successfully defended the 3rd place in the championship. Another impressive wildcard was Kazuki Masaki, who rounded up the top 10.

Ayumu Sasaki finished 13th and clinched the ‘Rookie of the Year’ title.

A scary moment during the race was offered by Fabio DiGiannantonio. The Italian tried to overtake Marcos Ramirez on the straight line, but his front wheel made contact with Ramirez’s back wheel during the attempt. As a result, Diggia was thrown off his bike and his body slided towards the end of the line. Fortunately, all the riders managed to avoid the young Italian and he escaped unharmed.

The championship standings is now closed, with Joan Mir in 1st place with 341 points. Romano Fenati finishes his 6-year Moto3 aventure in the runner-up spot, with 248 points. Aron Canet takes the bronze medal, with 199 points, only 3 more than today’s winner, Jorge Martin, who finishes in 4th with 196 points. In spite of the crash, Fabio DiGiannantonio finishes 5th overall, with 153 points. Enea Bastianini and John McPhee remained 6th and 7th, with 141 and 131 points, respectively. Marcos Ramirez goes past Migno and finishes 8th, with 123 points, 5 more than the Italian. The top 10 is locked out by Phillip Oettl, who gathered 105 points in the 18 GPs.

Joan Mir failed to match Valentino Rossi’s record of 11 wins in a single season in the lightweight class, but he managed to establish another record: He ended the season with 341 points, setting a new record for the most points gathered in the lightweight class in a single season. Alvaro Bautista was the previous holder of the record (338 points in the 2006 125cc season).

photo credit – Roadracing World